|A player drops a ball when she should have placed it or placed the ball when she should have dropped it. What, if any, is the penalty?|
If a player places a ball when she was required to drop it, she incurs the general penalty. If she drops the ball when she was required to place it, the penalty depends upon where the ball comes to rest. If the ball comes to rest on the spot where it was to be placed, she receives a one stroke procedural penalty under Rule 14.2. If the ball does not come to rest on the spot where it was to be placed, the player incurs the general penalty if she makes a stroke at the ball as she will have played from a wrong place under Rule 14-7.
If the player realizes her mistake before playing the ball, she may lift the ball under Rule 14.5 and proceed correctly with no penalty.